1	STATE OF OKLAHOMA
2	1st Session of the 60th Legislature (2025)
3	SENATE BILL 859 By: Bullard
4	
5	
6	
7	AS INTRODUCED
8	An Act relating to the Oklahoma State Bureau of
9	Investigation; amending 74 O.S. 2021, Section 150.3, which relates to the Oklahoma State Bureau of
10	Investigation Commission; modifying provisions related to appointment of Commission members; stating
11	term length; and providing an effective date.
12	
13	
14	BE IT ENACTED BY THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA:
15	SECTION 1. AMENDATORY 74 O.S. 2021, Section 150.3, is
16	amended to read as follows:
17	Section 150.3. A. <u>1.</u> There is hereby created an Oklahoma
18	State Bureau of Investigation Commission which shall consist of
19	seven (7) members, not more than two of whom shall be from the same
20	congressional district. When congressional districts are redrawn,
21	each member appointed prior to July 1 of the year in which such
22	modification becomes effective shall complete the current term of
23	office and appointments made after July 1 of the year in which such
24 27	modification becomes effective shall be based on the redrawn

Req. No. 577

Page 1

<sup>1</sup> districts. No appointments may be made after July 1 of the year in <sup>2</sup> which such modification becomes effective if such appointment would <sup>3</sup> result in more than two members serving from the same modified <sup>4</sup> district.

5	2. The members shall be appointed by the Governor and confirmed
6	by the Senate and shall be removable only for cause, as provided by
7	law for the removal of officers not subject to impeachment. The
8	term of office of each member shall be seven (7) years. The first
9	appointments shall be for the following terms as designated by the
10	Governor: one member for a term of one (1) year; one member for a
11	term of two (2) years; one member for a term of three (3) years; one
12	member for a term of four (4) years; one member for a term of five
13	(5) years; one member for a term of six (6) years; and one member
14	for a term of seven (7) years as follows:
15	a. one chief of police, while serving in such capacity,
16	appointed by the Oklahoma Association of Chiefs of
17	Police,
18	b. one sheriff, while serving in such capacity, appointed
19	by the Oklahoma Sheriffs' Association,
20	c. one district attorney, while serving in such capacity,
21	appointed by the District Attorneys Council,
22	d. one member appointed by the Attorney General,
23	e. one member appointed by the Governor,
24	
스ㄱ	

- 1
   f.
   one member appointed by the President Pro Tempore of

   2
   the Senate, and
  - g. one member appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

5 Each member shall serve for a term of two (2) years. A member 6 may serve more than one term on the Commission. Each member shall 7 continue to serve so long as the member is qualified <u>and</u> until a 8 successor has been appointed <del>and confirmed by the Senate</del>. Vacancies 9 occurring during a term shall be filled for the unexpired portion of 10 the term by the same procedure used to make the regular 11 appointments.

B. Four of the members shall represent the lay citizenry, one member shall be a district attorney while serving in that capacity, one member shall be a sheriff while serving in that capacity, and one member shall be a chief of police while serving in that capacity; provided that the sheriff and police chief members shall have successfully completed an approved course of instruction for peace officers as required by law.

19 C. Annually the Commission shall select one of the Commission 20 members to serve as chair and one member to serve as vice-chair. 21 The Commission shall meet at least quarterly. The chair shall 22 preside at all meetings of the Commission and shall have the power 23 to call meetings of the Commission. In addition, meetings of the 24 Commission may be called by a majority of the members. The vice-

Req. No. 577

3

4

<sup>1</sup> chair shall perform these functions in the absence or incapacity of <sup>2</sup> the chair. A quorum of four members of the Commission shall be <sup>3</sup> necessary to conduct any official business. All actions taken by <sup>4</sup> the Commission shall be by a simple majority vote of a quorum. In <sup>5</sup> the event of a tie vote, the measure being voted upon shall be <sup>6</sup> deemed to have failed.

7 The Commission shall adopt rules of procedure for the orderly 8 performance of its functions.

9 D. C. Members of the Commission shall serve without salary but 10 may be reimbursed for travel and other expenses in attending 11 meetings and performing their duties in the manner provided for 12 other state officers and employees under the State Travel 13 Reimbursement Act. The lay-citizen members shall be paid Thirty 14 Dollars (\$30.00) per diem for attendance at meetings of the 15 Commission. No other provisions of law shall be construed as 16 prohibiting public officers from also serving as members of the 17 Commission, nor shall any other provisions of law be construed as 18 prohibiting public officers or public employees from performing 19 services for the Commission without compensation. It is further 20 provided that no town, city, county or other subdivision or other 21 agency of state government shall be prohibited from receiving a 22 grant or from benefiting from grants or expenditures of the 23 Commission for the reason that an officer or employee of such town,

24

Page 4

1	city, county, or other subdivision or agency of state government is
2	a Commission member or employee.
3	SECTION 2. This act shall become effective November 1, 2025.
4	
5	60-1-577 CN 1/19/2025 5:44:45 AM
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	